Another page from St Dismas journal

We decided way back that the holy family knows best when it comes to figuring out the safest place to live. Afterall, if their son is indeed the son of God then they would definitely choose a safe town to reside. Gestas and I are on the run anyhow. Mary and Joseph seemed to be eluding some sort of authority themselves, so staying in their shadows has been our best bet when we got into trouble. The years have passed of course and Jesus has become a carpenter by trade. I did not watch him grow up, and we are not here to see him being back in Nazareth for awhile. Rumors of him being the messiah are in many conversations I overhear. I am not totally convinced myself, although it draws my interest, as well as many others here in Nazareth. I would not even bring their names up in my journal, except that they are the talk of the town. Anyways, I heard other rumors there was good business here in Nazareth lately, with ships coming and going with imported goods. I have a few connections myself, knowing some trade savvy fellows along the harbor. I came back to Nazareth to find out some more about these exquisite paintings that were being sold by a rich merchant. The word has made it  to my ears that there is a woman here with a fine talent for art paintings. I could not help but notice the rich traders at the harbor bragging about their expensive paintings – and how much they paid for them. If I could get my hands on a few of these paintings, I could be made for the next month or so. No hard feelings stealing from the rich either – they make it back in a day or so and still eat with their silver spoons.

(3 hours later)

I have found the young woman who is selling her paintings. I can’t just take them from the store front tables, so I have to wait around and follow her home. I find it easier to kill some time by writing in my journal, although I probably shouldn’t keep my journal too informational. But even if i get caught for anything just one time, I will be in enough trouble that all of my crimes would be justified. I am sitting under the shade of a tree nearby and it seems the woman is getting ready to close down for the day.

(1 hour later)

The woman traveled to Mary’s house to speak with her. Yes, Mary the mother of Jesus. Apparently, the woman purchases the wooden picture frames that Jesus makes. I overheard a conversation in the house as the woman was looking over some picture frames Jesus made and had sitting up against the house. It seemed like he was expecting her maybe. I remember Jesus telling his mother that it was his destiny to be crucified for the sins of mankind. Mary seemed very uneasy about the conversation, but I did not hear much before Jesus and the woman began talking. I was not eavesdropping, I just have good ears sometimes.

(3 hours later)

Waiting for the right moment. I followed the woman and found where she lives. She unloaded the frames and I am waiting for her candle to be dimmed. I wonder how many paintings I will be able to hold without making any noise. This is going to be my chance to make it or break it. I feel a little paranoid doing this now that I know who made the frames. But I have to make a living too and I am not going to steal from the widows and the poor. Afterall, I live around them and they are my brothers and sisters. We help one another often and its a general understanding that we do not take from each other. I do not live by any code, but I like to think I have morals in this wretched life I live. I have not even spoken to Gestas about this let alone have I seen him all day. I surely hope he is ok and has not gotten caught. We’ll meet up at the crossroads at morning light to share our discoveries. Anyhow, not too much longer now and I will make my move.

(2 hours later after the robbery)

Well thats the last time I will be doing that. I am still shaken by the moment I gazed upon one of the pictures. I will write it down to calm my nerves. To start off with, I made it inside. For such a wealthy family, the lock was rather poor quality, or poor security I may say.The house was beautiful inside and I found where she kept her paintings easily. I crept through the house with my stockings on and made sure that everyone was snoring before I entered. The empty wine bottles on the table gave me a bit of confidence nobody would be waking up either. Well back to the paintings I found. As I was rummaging through the paintings and slipping them in a bag of mine, I came across one that literally sent chills down my spine. Of course I had to browse the paintings because I needed to make sure they were finished and signed. The one I picked up that was not finished was unique and glowed in the moonlight. Maybe it was her choice of colors, but I kept looking at it because I knew it would be a prize when it was finished. For a moment I admired the woman’s work as I made out what she painted. 3 crosses on a hill, with one man crucified hanging on the middle cross with a crown of thorns on his head. The plaque said Messiah above his head. The two crosses on each side of it were vacant, but it was obvious she had intentions of finishing them. The symbol above each of those two crosses translated to “thief”. Why she would draw 2 crosses next to a messiah being crucified on his cross – I have no idea. Then it struck me in the face – if I get caught doing this, I will be crucified this same week. My nerves reacted to my feelings and I started to tremble as I put the picture back down amongst the other unfinished works. I got nervous and the picture slid off of another and hit the ground coming to a halt as it lay up against a chair. The thud was loud enough to bring her out of her snoring and she coughed for a few seconds. I had to get out of there. I took what I had under my arm and walked very fast towards the door. The last thing I heard before the door shut was the woman yawning as though she sat up on her bed. My heart was racing so bad I must of ran a mile before I stopped. But, I did make it out with a few paintings. Perhaps it was fate I received a premonition to leave when I looked at the painting of the crosses. Anyhow, I am safe now and I have what I came for. Tomorrow we will head back to the docks to make some transactions. I will be away from Nazareth for awhile. A long while…

About dismaseve

I would like to assemble some authors to research Saint Dismas and write a screenplay and book about his life and how it is incorporated into the life of Jesus. Please send me a message and let me know if how and when you can participate. Or we can all just sit around and wait for some hollywood producers to snab up the blog ideas and just watch the movie later on. I am sure some money grabbers are looking into this. I would do it for non profit simply to gain the interest of movie goers into the story of the bible. Many people are bored with the bible and see movies like the Passion of the Christ as just another Jesus flick, so perhaps a story of Saint Dismas in an action packed movie in a setting like Prince of Persia for example would get some better attention.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

