Did Dismas regret his entire life?

I was sitting outside enjoying the night

time weather about a week ago thinking

about whether or not Dismas regretted

his entire life. We all know at the end of his

life on the cross he expressed sorrow and

remorse, seeking forgiveness from Jesus.

He made it cleared that he lived his life

the wrong way. Perhaps he might of lived the

majority of his life the wrong way, but by

whose standards? The Roman empire’s?

The same empire which allowed gambling

and prostitution amongst its own soldiers?

I sat and pondered this for awhile to the point where

I envisioned myself looking at a scene in

Dismas’s life. What my imagination, or perhaps

my spirit showed me was very intriguing.

I was looking through a crack in a wall where

soldiers were on break, partying with ladies

of the night. I was not focused on the women however,

I was so used to seeing the filth and disguss

that went on in the guard barracks. I wanted to see

who all was on break so I knew who was on duty for

obvious reasons. Some guards were better at spotting

people during the nighttime then others. I couldn’t

help but notice a golden bar on the old wooden table

that beheld 666 imprinted on it. I thought nothing of that

either, never accepting prophecy or anything people

had to say about it. I made up my own fate with my

own decisions. And most of all, how can I regret what

I do when I see filth like this go on every night

with the people who are to look after us. These

guards are our elders and watchers? Pfft..

The golden bar was what I remembered. People’s love

of their money and their pleasure. I could not help but

think that perhaps Dismas couldn’t of helped but not

have any regrets about his life when he saw these things.

To continue his life the way he did, knowing that

he did have a conscious as we all saw at the end of his life,

He had to of known there was evil in the world, maybe just

maybe like the one described above.

This was a short story, I know, and I kind of narrated

it as thought I stepped into Dismas’s life for a few

moments. Its worth considering as well. I do

believe that Dismas was motivated to do some

of the things he did because of bad influences.

And I can’t help but decide that some of those bad

influences were of the golden empire that governed

his era. Even in today’s modern world, with police

officers committing crimes more and more as

they grew in the news, and people rebelling in the

Eastern world overthrowing their own corrupt

government (Egypt, Libya) just who are the ones

to make the decisions in life that will be right.

About dismaseve

I would like to assemble some authors to research Saint Dismas and write a screenplay and book about his life and how it is incorporated into the life of Jesus. Please send me a message and let me know if how and when you can participate. Or we can all just sit around and wait for some hollywood producers to snab up the blog ideas and just watch the movie later on. I am sure some money grabbers are looking into this. I would do it for non profit simply to gain the interest of movie goers into the story of the bible. Many people are bored with the bible and see movies like the Passion of the Christ as just another Jesus flick, so perhaps a story of Saint Dismas in an action packed movie in a setting like Prince of Persia for example would get some better attention.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

